The things we do for excitement..

Projekt

Registered
Creativity is a requirement when trying to keep things interesting while working here in Iraq. For example, I have a new game that I have recently undertaken. So far after three weeks of doing it every night things have gone relatively well except for a couple of hair-raising moments.
The idea is to go for a walk around the lake here on Camp Slayer at night in the pitch black. Forget the mandatory reflective belt or anything bright, I wear black clothes, no badge and stay out of the light. Until last night the most exciting part was to make it around the two or more mile diameter lake without raising eyebrows and without anybody questioning me about my lack of badge or safety gear.
It is fun to imagine that I am a secret agent or a mercenary on a solo mission into enemy territory. Like Rambo, I travel alone, armed with more wit than weaponry and ready to kill at a moment's notice using only my bare hands. Yeah, goofy and geeky at the same time but like I said, imagination is mandatory here.
Rumors abound about the jackals and other feral dogs that run around this place in the shadow of night with impunity and no real attempts at eradication. The vector control technicians know the boundaries are too porous to control entry of smaller four legged invaders so they just manage things as they are until some dumbass gets bitten prompting a rabies scare.
As it is, sometimes while walking to my room at midnight after work, I feel like I am being followed or stalked for that matter. Looking around reveals nothing, but I hear the footfalls of something behind me. Maybe it's my imagination or the breeze caressing the palm trees into making a taunting and deceitful sound. At other times, my night vision is so well adjusted that I really do see the lone jackal or two running in between the buildings looking for scraps of food that people drop on the way from the dining facility.