Newbie Here And Considering a Busa

JINKSTER

I Love my Wife!
Donating Member
Registered
Great Board ya'll got here and I hope you folks don't mind if I take the lazy way out and ask a few questions justa save myself a bunch of research and reading!!!
tounge.gif

Raised up on a bunch of Honda 750's and an '86 Nighthawk S Model....then a brand new '89 Goldwing...I know...now
down.gif
and more recently I've been riding nakeds...had a '00 Kaw ZRX1100 for a few years and I'm currently finishing up almost 4 years on a Yami FZ1.

I'm gett'in a tad bored with the nakeds and started looking at ZZR1200's and CBR1100XX's....Kaws 12R is just way too tall for me and I was talking to a tuning bud/guru about the ZZR and he advised I check out the Busa's instead.

I sat a used '03 with 1,600 on the odo this evening and it seems to fit me great but....

1. Is the Busa a good All Dayer sorta ST bike?

2. Any notable problems or mechanical issues?

3. Have there been any "Notable Performance Improvements" since '02?

I probably won't be "buying new" but might be looking for a smoking deal on a slightly used, low miles. mint cond. sorta Busa if it fits my riding needs and style....which is...46 and living in south florida but love to visit the north geogia-NC smokeys once or twice a year and just want more wind prtection, comfy ergo's and of course...gobs of umph!!!

T.I.A. & L8R, Bill.

T.I.A. & L8R, Bill.
Bill,
#1: There are several peple on the board who go out for hundreds of miles at a time on thier Busas. The bike is comfortable stock but can be made even more so with some relatively cheap/easy mods, i.e:
Throttlemeister, Tobin/Corbin seats, Doub Bubb windscreen, raising/lowering bike, aftermarket footpegs, etc.

#2: 99-00 (since you are talking used) had some issues with sub-frame cracks and starter problems - 01 and newr you should be good (former owner care not withstanding)