New to 'Busas, but very tempted to buy...Help!

iwanabe007

Registered
Greetings, all! I've been reading some posts for a few days (I just came across this site this week), and am really impressed with all of your members! Everyone seems quite knowledgeable AND friendly - something that's unheard of in internet forums.
Anyway, since I'm new here, I'll get straight to the point. I've grown up riding dirt bikes, but I've never owned a street bike. I'm thinking it's time to finally get one! :laugh:
I'm 6'4", 215 lbs, and I want a bike that can take me and my wife (who's a LOT smaller than I am) up a steep, twisty canyon road, relatively comfortably, without breaking a sweat. For me, everything is pointing towards a 'Busa, but I'm pretty new to them.
Since it will be my first street bike, I am planning on buying used (I'd hate to lay down a brand-new 'Busa). I've found two local listings that have me interested, cause the prices are so low.
I'm hoping to get some input from you pros! :bowdown: :bowdown:

The older of the two is a teal-ish green 2001 Busa GSXR (not sure if there are any other models). Here is his listing:
"The bike has just had a service done by Suzuki of Salt Lake City. The bike has 19800 miles on it. Mods include; HMF carbon fiber high mount exhaust, K&N air filter, dark smoke double bubble wind screen and RC component rims. The bike rides very smooth, and with the lighter rims, handles great"

The second add is for a copper/bronze/orange beautiful 2003 Busa GSXR. He doesn't say much:
"This bike is in excellent cond. All stock, 23,000 miles, newer tires."

I guess my biggest question is if I should be seriously considering these bikes with mileage that high. I know a lot of threads here talk about Busas with 100K+ on them, but 20K miles is still plenty for someone to screw them up.
What are the signs a Busa has been abused or ridden rough for when I go see them?
Anything I should really be nervous about?

Thanks everyone!