New Florida Motorcycle laws-Effective 01 Oct, 2008

I am a motor cop here in Florida and I also ride a Busa. I think these new laws were ment for the guys that ride the 100mph wheel stand and have no respect for the other drivers on the roadway. I think these new Laws are too extreme, just another case where the good suffer for the bad.

What is considered a Improperly displayed tag??

here are a few for LA.: not illuminated, must be fastened securely, and must be legible from 50ft. from rear. The last one covers a lot. If the plate is dirty or has a trim ring around it that blocks anypart of the plate.

I am a motor cop here in Florida and I also ride a Busa. I think these new laws were ment for the guys that ride the 100mph wheel stand and have no respect for the other drivers on the roadway. I think these new Laws are too extreme, just another case where the good suffer for the bad.

Thanks for your input. You are correct. We as responsible riders get to carry the baggage with the idiots flying around on 1 wheel and scaring motorists.

We need to look at the big picture here these type of laws could be passed anywhere in any state. If we dont police ourselves the governemnt will do it for us. If motorcyclists dont take it upon themselves to knck off the loud pipes stunting on the street and other anti social behavior we are going to be in some big Excrement. I really dont want to have to hang up the helmet yet but if we end up with laws like this in Calif. whats the point of owning a sportbike? I'll give up riding before ill ride a fricking moped around.

Well ..........

Looks like i wont be doing daytona this year
why ?

Because i refuse to move my tag.

YOU FLORIDIANS NEED TO SPEAK UP
AND GET THAT **** CHANGED.

I believe that if your tag is legal in your home state(on your drivers license) you should be fine. People commute through other states wheel traveling where there is different laws and have no issues.