New Busa Owner

JK308

Registered
Hello everyone!

I have been signed up and trolling for a bit and figured I might as well introduce myself. My name is Jon Koopman, am 47 years old, and live in Western Idaho. I started riding when I was about 10 years old on anything I could sneak away on but mostly dirt bikes. In my mid teens I did a bit of racing on RM 125s and had a great time until one particularly bad crash that caused my mother to revoke her blessings for the activity. Needless to say I continued riding and racing behind her back...I'm sure she knew but she never said anything.

Just after I married my lovely wife in 1990 I bought my first two street bikes, '84 and '85 Honda V65 Magnas. Nice machines but I wanted to learn how to sport ride. Next came an unloved '95 GSX-R 750. Not sure why I picked it but something about it spoke to me at the time. I rode the 750 for about three years and brought it back to the beauty it should have been maintained as all along. Next came a brand new 2001 GSX-R 1000. What a machine! During my three years on the 1000 I joined a great group of mature and talented sport riders in the Boise area who taught me how to truly enjoy such a beast. That bike took me on weekend rides through the canyons, week-long road trips, and several track days. Various family and financial pressures forced me to sell it in 2004. :banghead: