Hi total newbie to bikes

to tell u the truth i never even rode on a bike before.. but i really dont feel like riding a dirt bike first. I drive cars pretty amazingly (if that counts for anything ) and ya... so for around how much canadian $ would i be having to spend on a decent bike and how is insurance.
At 17 you would most likely not be able to afford insurance for a Busa anyway. Start with a good 600 the insurance will still be up there for your age. Look for a ggod used bike and go to a good riding school.

To answerr your second thouht. No being a good car driver will have nothing to do with your riding skills on a bike. It will help in judgement watching the traffic around you for a start.

Vag - Reconsider starting with a dirt bike. Not a motocross bike, but rather a trail bike, perhaps in the 200-250cc range, as your first bike. Something that can be ridden on the street and trails so you can venture out onto the street eventually, but spend a lot of time learning on the trails. Reason? Several, but here's a few...

1. You can learn more riding a trail bike in the dirt in a month, than you'll learn on the street bike in a year.

2. Falling (which probably will happen!) is a lot less painful in the dirt than on the street. And chances are you'll get up and walk again on the trails - all bets are off if you fall in the street.

3. You'll be able to push your limits and boost your skill and confidence level much quicker on the trail bike.

4. Trail bikes are fairly easily repaired if you fall. If you fall on a sport bike (even a SV650), be ready to dig deep into your pockets.

5. A trail bike will cost less to purchase and insure.

6.. Most importantly, the skills you'll learn riding a trail bike (in the dirt) could end up saving your life someday when you graduate to faster bikes.