Hi total newbie to bikes

vag

Registered
Hi, i'm currently 17 years old and i'm thinking of purchasing a bike. Before posting i read some of the stickies and came to a realization that a hayabusa is not a bike for me since i want to live long enough to go to a university. I was just wondering what could be a good bike to start learning with (a good looking one). I read that Suzuki SV650 and Suzuki Katana 750 are good beginner bikes. Just wanted some experienced opinions.

Also how safe or unsafe are riding bikes and is it suggested for a 17 year old to ride one.
and 1 last question is around how much could i get a decent beginner bike (that looks good
tounge.gif
) for? I'm kinda short on cash so the least possible would be good, bike doest have to be brand new.

Welcome to the board.

First off. I currently have mized feelings as to if a person should have a Busa as a first bike. I used to say no, never, not in a million years.

But then after reading others opinions, there are some truth to the fact that any bike from a 600 to a 1000 will be more wheelie prone than a Busa, not as stable at high speeds and any of your litre bikes will do 160+

So, I am on the fence ass to what a persons first bike should be.

Probably if you have NEVER ridden a motorcycle before, get a real cheap dirt bike, learn how to shift and throttle and brake on a dirt bike, and after you get good with the basics, take a good street motorcycle safety course.

Then at the safety course talk to other riders, talk to the instructor, get input from everyone first hand, then make the decision on what klind of bike you want.

Just a though.

well i read that even the slightest damage to a bike like the hayabus can cost 500+ $ repairs... being only 17 its kinda hard coming up with cash like that.