Fork seals

Blkoutbusa

Registered
Ok, few questions and didn't wanna bump older thread.

$130 said and done from a guy I know. Does good work etc. Oil seals, dust seals, and oil. And labor.

Or DIY? IF DIY, do you bother replacing the dust seals? And I debated going to 7w oil for forks.

Any input? $130 is pretty cheap to not mess with it except fork removal....

At 195lbs in full leathers, 30-32mm sag front/rear stock suspension, I really liked how 7w oil made the forks feel.

Oem seals and dust seals are $65 plus the oil,, $130 is a good price if he is Oem parts

You can always by 2 brackets and 2 bolts and modify them to make your own spring compressor. $130 is a good price, but I love learning how to do things I’ve never done before. Also, I agree with 7w oil, but I did springs at the same time too, so not sure what made the biggest difference.
88D52D79-1400-49E5-8F00-A699457253FD.jpeg
45EB9A7E-5F38-42CC-BB51-67CC8A90BEE4.jpeg
17D43015-C682-40EF-8AE2-E722E71EF126.jpeg

Cool spring compressor, but you don't have to remove the springs to replace the seals.

To correctly bleed the cartridge yes you do

My mistake, just quoting what I had read here...imagine that.
I have always disassembled the forks by the manuals when replacing the seals.
Now I don't feel like I missed out on a short cut.

New info: A guy that owns his own suspension company, and is good at it too, said $100 all said and done, both sets of seals and oil. And he will do them while I wait / watch and shoot the breeze.

Just gonna have them done for that price...

New info: A guy that owns his own suspension company, and is good at it too, said $100 all said and done, both sets of seals and oil. And he will do them while I wait / watch and shoot the breeze.

Just gonna have them done for that price...

That's a steal
oem seals and oil costs nearly, if not that much.

This has been done to death but my experience....
Just followed the threads here to change my leaking fork seals on my 2008 Gen 2.