Filling the gas tank while on the bike

Elit

Registered
This morning on my way to work I had to make a stop for gas.

Next to me was some guy filling up the bike while still on it.

As some of you may know you should NEVER DO THIS!!!

The reason you shouldn’t do this is that while you are still on the bike the risk of a static electricity discharge, which is the main reason for fires on a gas station, is way greater.

To make maters a little worse, because you are on the bike, if you see a fire starting your first reaction would be to pull the hose out.

NEVER EVER TAKE THE HOSE OUT IN CASE OF FIRE!!!

Doesn’t matter what you are filling up… Bike… Car… Truck… Some gas tank…

The only thing you will accomplish by pulling it out is feeding the fire more oxygen and a larger surface, creating a bigger problem.

I've been filling up while sitting on my bike since 1986 and never had a problem , where would this static electricity come from ? Aren't your feet grounded? Just asking ???

Gee, next you're gonna tell me to shut the bike off, too... :poke:

:rofl:

I've heard this too, I never sit on my bike when fueling. I have to get off of it to get a towel to wipe up any splashes anyway, I just stay off of it...
:beerchug:

In the thousands of gas station fires I've personally witnessed, all were caused by someone filling up while sitting on the bike with one exception. That one was caused by a little 'ole lady texting. :poke:

In the thousands of gas station fires I've personally witnessed, all were caused by someone filling up while sitting on the bike with one exception. That one was caused by a little 'ole lady texting. :poke:

THOUSANDS of gas station fires?? What do you work for the Federal Bureau of gas station fire investigation? You've witnessed over a thousand people starting on fire from sitting on the bike?

I call BS on this one... :laugh: