Career Changers -

https://www.hayabusa.org/forum/threads/what-is-your-profession.195757/

43818227_570982480010237_2838655560522038229_n.jpg

My fellow Hayabusa brother & friend @c10 Bryan started a thread & it got me to thinking . . .

As a kid riding motorcycles we needed to pay for fuel & parts , including tires !

Smoked fish & made tofu with Mr. Anderson to afford a bike license .

Flagged motocross & handed out trophies in Corona , CA.

As an adult I had started building RV furniture .

Then JSC roll bars & sand rail chassis .

To National RV manufacturing .

Finally www.emwd.oRg .

& #emwdRetiRed *

Red, *<(;{)-

:thumbsup:

Reactions: c10
I've been in the IT field for 20 years now, fell in to it quite by accident after I graduated from college with a business degree. I've learned a lot, but in local gov't, it's all "baptism by fire", hurry up, make this person or dept happy, move on to the next fire. That offers up challenges that keep the job interesting, but changes in recent years have put me in a really odd place, one deep on supporting every software system we have, every flavor of SQL Server from long deprecated to bleeding edge. I'm tasked with dissecting contracts now, budget, fighting vendors, demo after demo when new software is wanted, then never invited to the table to steer solid decisions.

Not really sure how to describe it anymore other than 52-pickup...our IT shop is imploding from the inside, from the top down. But 20 years in, chaos is as I know, and 20 years in, I'm not sure how relevant those skills translate to other jobs. I'm not alone; several of us realize we don't know what it is we do, no time or budget for training, it's all just chaos.

It's hard to see that reality 20 years later. My resume would say "awesome at herding chaos" but I'm not sure that's a skill :confused:
Its one of the BEST skills Vabs :)