track in MD?

samw5

Registered
Ok I've never done this before but since purchasing the busa I'm getting more and more nervous of getting pulled over... you get way past what's legal way too soon.

So I figured maybe finding a local track would help.

I was wondering what's available, for how much and where.

Basically how to get started to be able to ride a bit faster (I'm not looking at comp type of riding, just a bit more knee dragging) yet do it legally, and w/o blowing my limited budget.

Also what kind of gear/bike setup is needed for those track runs?

Where you at in Md? I moved away from there a year ago but still know some good places to ride without the worries

right in baltimore tryin not to get shot
smile.gif

1rst tip. GET OUTTA B-MORE!!!!!!!

for a really nice track, run up at summit point, in western md. Track days are cheap and if you go to a day during the week the track is sometimes empty.
As for places to ride, head south towards annapolis. Hit the back roads of edgewater, davidsonvillle, most back roads in southern Md. are pretty 5.0 free. You can run them all the way down to the southern point of Md. If really willing to make a ride go all the way down Rt4 get on there ferry take to Eastern shore back up the shore of the bay (REAL nice riding).
Go west to towards fredrick make some runs around thurmont, clearsprings, walkersville, woodsboro, union bridge, you get the idea, very good places to air it out.
If you ever get out on a tues, thurs or the weekend, head down to Rockville. On 355 near, White Flint mall is a Barnes and noble book store, Bikes, compacts and race cars meet up there, follow them guys around they will show you where the Good roads are.
If you looking for Tracks get ahold of my Buddy who works at Heyser Cycle in Laurel, (ryan in sales). Tell him that Darrell (guy how lived around the corner from his parents) says hi and ask him where the good tracks are. he races or raced on simi pro circut.