throwing on a slick

Kevin Jones

Registered
Am I going to die? Will I shoot my eye out? I got a free MT slick that I am going to mount on a spare wheel today. I have a shinko hook up that I havent tested, stupid ass track closed last night. I will have all three on wheels and just swap around. Stealth for street (DOES NOT HOOK UP ON THE TRACK, DANGEROUS), shinko hook up (untested except for some street runs), and the slick.

Question is, is it even worth trying? If its wheelie city and strapping, launching low rpm and anything else other than going back 18" with a pro adjusted shock and clutch isnt going to prevent it, then it seems pointless. What are your experiences? I dont race classes, I am a novice. Bad traction problems prior to this clutch with a shinko stealth. 10psi in the tire and sideways the whole pass which I should have just aborted.

Gen 1, stage 1 RCC (not a perfect tune, working that issue, Dobrin set to 230hp on the dyno and walked away, since then had an ecu fail and replaced, he refuses to give me the bin file he originally put on my old one, long story, PC5 holding a decent AFR right now)
MTC 2 stage lock up (untuned)
8" back on velocity swingarm

Going 1/4 Sunday afternoon so not so worried about launch as I am 1/8th.

I haven't run one, but friends have. They have gone away from them on a street bike. The Hookup seems to do well enough for one buddy to go 4.90's in the 1/8 no wheelie bar. The other buddy says as soon as the bike moves around you end up on the edge of the slick which is no traction compared to a rounded profile tire. Good luck, let us know how it works.

Ok, so the slick sounds like it might not be worth the trouble. A 4.9 on a hook up is sick. I cant think a slick would be that much faster.