Riding technique

Steer with your butt cheeks.

--Wag--
Negate most of this, as I realized that A) Charles has sounded in, B) others have already nailed this, to a great extent, explained the very concepts, C) Need to read second page of discussion from now on....
bowdown.gif

Thanks WAG, that's the deal for me......  

Shawn, I know when I started riding the Hayabusa compared to other "lighter" rides that turning in was an issue I needed much learning in.  I found if I over pushed at too low a speed she would dive.  I then experimented with "just" pushing down as much as needed to initiate the turn in.  I then experimented at freeway speeds with just the "lean" factor and / or a certain amount of "push" to stabilize the radius of the turn.  What was really interesting was the fact that I'm right-handed, and yet my left-turn was much more stable than my right-hand at all speeds.  

Something interesting happened while chasing dot.org members during the Vegas Baby run......I started "naturally" shifting my hips slightly in the direction of the turn as if I was pushing my knee into the tank indent.  This took "most" of the "push" out of the turn.  Now don't get me wrong....when running sweepers, and shorter radius turns at near, or above triple-digits, we all stabilize against something, as if, to help the stabilizer "balance" the control pressures.  Yet for me, I started relying on it.  Now I have a combination of hip shift, that accompanies my control push and pull.  

Example:  If I'm pushing to the left (for a left hander), I stabilize with a slight shift to the left, with a "slight" pull on the right grip for stability.