Newbie Questions

06MontereyBusa

Registered
Hi everyone. Just got a 06 busa 2 weeks ago. First and foremost I probably don't have to tell you this, but that bike is like sex on wheels.

I have been riding a SV650S for 5 years and I love that bike. No amount of description could prepare me for the Busa experience and my buddy who has one has told me I haven’t even hit the powerband yet.

I have some newbie questions that are probably covered in some manual I failed to read but I thought I would ask the experts first.

1st. I'm breaking in the Engine and the sales person says I shouldn't get it past 6000 RPMs for the first 600 miles. My buddy says its more like 7000. He also told me that if I don't get it to a higher (7000) RPM within the break-in period, the engine wouldn’t get the right amount of horsepower in its life. Is all of this stuff crap or is there some type of truth to this jive? If so, what is the top RPM and why?

2nd After reading various threads I have noticed there are some suggestions to ride at 29PSI on tire pressure and some people say as much as 40psi. On my SV650 I run 33 because that’s what it says on the side of the bike. Since the busa is different kind of monster I thought there would be pros to lower tire pressure than higher. Hell I don't know, that’s why I’m asking.

3rd. Exhaust? I read that complex post by Gunbaby and he doesn't directly come out and say what = what. Does a 4-2-2 H pattern cause "turbulence" Vs a 4-2-2 X pattern? What’s the deal with bolt ons? Just noise and style? I understand that a new complete system would gain me more HP once its been "mapped" correctly. What gives me the most bang for my buck. My target effect is more power between 40mph and 90mph, not so much Top end or start up. Is a 4-1 or a 4-2-1 better for this goal?