new rifle advice

busabeast

likes to pass cars
Registered
ok- so i bought a winchester model 70 7mm, and the groupings at 200m is atrocious...

i got this weapon with the idea that those pesky zombies would be dealt with before i needed to deal with them... but a 6
in group is no good!

so i shot my buddies remington 700 .308 and was encouraged- its not me- its the rifle...

the questions are thus:

would the caliber matter much (looking for around 500m consistency)

is the bull barrel responsible for my 3 in groups?

what, in the $4-500 range, would give me the best performance under ideal conditions (no wind, match ammo, decent scope, etc...)

keep in mind i am not a professional, but i am a decent shot- range daddy trains me well- just want to be confident in my shot...

all constructive criticism and suggestion are welcome.

thoughts?

p.s. i've got an ar-15, ak-47, rem 597 .22, and other asst. firearms... looking to fill a particular need- pesky darn zombies...:laugh:

Are you using open sights or a scope? If it is a scope make sure something has not come loose....mount, rings or a lens.

Many factors here. You shouldn't have any issues with a model 70 although the newer ones are not like the pre-64's..

Is the scope tight, have the rings been lapped, etc?
Has the rifle been bedded?

Most rifles aren't going to be very accurate at 200m right off the crack. There is also human error to take into play. What ammo are you using, etc, etc, etc..

Not trying to be mean, but just because Ricky Gadson's zx14 can do an 8 sec quarter, doesn't mean I can make that same 14 do it...

Like Bots said.
I have had a couple of Ruger M77s and I had to try different ammo in each to find what it liked.

My current M77 pre MKII 7mm likes Federal premium game king BT 150 gr sp. Didn't like the winchester at all.

Also Scope- loose, rings, lens or just the scope in general.

Lock the gun in a lead sled and see what happens. try different ammo ( brands and models ).