New 'Busa owner soon... Hopefully

moloko

Banned
Well, a little introduction...

I'm a KS resident, been riding for 10 years or so, cruisers mostly. I'm looking into a sport bike and decided I love the looks of the Hayabusa, and it's reputation of performance.

I own 2 custom motorcycles, a soft tail and a hard tail. I'm hopefully selling the Hard Tail this week to fund my Hayabusa search. I have a few VERY interested parties anyway and I should hear from them this week.

I've been rabidly scanning the craigslist and I've done some searches on site here the past few days... before I make a purchase I thought I'd ask the pros here for opinions on price, offers etc since I'm sure you have a far better idea of what these things are worth than I do.

Found a:

'99, 22k miles, one owner, babied and touring accessorized: Windshield, heli bar risers, corbin beetle bags, otherwise bone stock. Guys some 60+ years old so I tend to believe the 'not abused' bit they're selling. asking $5500.

I may go look at it this weekend if things go well. Is there anything I should look for specifically, did these things have problems? nada value says almost 3k and kelly BB says just over 5k... is an 11 year old bike worth what he's asking? I've read (here) about people picking up new ones for 9-10k? and it seems I see ALOT of used ones for 7-15k asking price.

I'm trying to stay around 6k give or take and I've come across several for that price in my area ~4hr drive range that are a few years newer and anywhere from 1/2 to equal mileage, this one is really close by and I know those bags are pretty pricey and would be nice to have around I suppose.

So many bikes for sale!!! Hard to decide!

Thoughts, Comments, Suggestions?

Thanks for looking,
-Steven

Last edited: