Long read in regards to the motorcycle crash

thrasherfox

BUSA
Donating Member
Registered
I was going to post this in the daiily Journal site for everyone to read but they only accept 1000 character chunks, so I figured I would post it here and put a link there.

Here is what I wanted to say:

Jen70,

You are ignorant. thanks for the labeling of the sports bike community.

I am a sports bike rider and I have been riding sports bikes for over 20 years, started with a Suzuki 750-ES and I currently own a Hayabusa

Statistically speaking, most statistics are made up off the top of someone's head in relation to their own personal experience. Please do not state in a public forum that 99% of sports riders want to show off and ride out of control a lot.

Yes, there are some squids out there but the ones that are stupid and act like a squid are usually removed from the gene pool pretty quick. The rest of us are left to deal with the stigma that a small few have created.

In my 25+ years of riding sports bikes I have seen a large amount of people on cruisers who are weekend warriors. They purchase big expensive cruisers so they can ride to the local bar on Friday, slam a few beers then ride home, and that is the extent of their riding. Seen quit a few of these weekend warriors try to go on a real ride and try to out ride their bike and slam it into a mountain or off a cliff because they are not familiar with the machine.

I myself prefer to go on long rides, either by myself or with a small select group of trusted riders with no one else around so I can enjoy the roads and the ride. I don't stunt my bike, I don't hang out with other "bikers"￾ so I can look cool. I ride for the ride. I have put up to 900 miles in two days before on a bike

Would it be fair for me to say that 99% of people who ride cruisers are weekend warriors? No it wouldn't.