First ride today.....

nychris

Registered
I got my bike registered and insured today and took her out for the first time. First off, my prior riding experience includes 4 months with my R6 before I jumped to the HB. I was nervous before the ride because of all the stories you hear about this bike, but once I started riding everything was great!

Speed/Power
Its definitely a fast bike and is significantly more powerful than my R6, but that power can easily be contained by keepin the RPMs below 6000....this was my primary concern. I felt very confident and in control on this bike, I don't believe its any harder to ride than my little R6.

Turning/Cornering
Turning was basically the same, the HB is about 150lbs heavier but I didn't feel much of a difference for street riding. If I were to race the bikes at a track, I bet the HB wouldn't be nearly as good as the R6, but for street riding its a non-factor for me.

Braking
The biggest difference I found was braking. It takes much longer to brake on the HB and the rear brake doesn't seem to do anything to slow the bike down. On the R6, I've using both front and rear brakes simultaneously to come to a stop. On the HB, the rear brake feels useless, its almost like its broke.

Cruising
This bike rides so smooth, you can't even tell when you're going fast.. I feel the same doing 20mph as I do doing 120mph, which was the top speed I got her up to on my first day. I think I was in 2nd or 3rd gear doing 120, there was PLENTY more where that came from if I really wanted to ride the bike hard which I'm looking forward to.

Overall