dyno pull questions

jeremy78233

Registered
which gear should you be in for dyno pull? The guy I've been using is doing a pull in 5th gear but my numbers seem very low, so I was wondering if he should be in another gear? Best as of today 206hp with tire slippage and let off around 10k because is started stumbling. BTW superman and myself are doing our own tuning just using the dyno to see where we are going. So anyway my boost guage reads 10lbs, fuel pressure 90+, timing -5 @ 60-100% throttle from 5k to redline. From what i've been reading, with this much boost shouldn't I be closer to like 280hp?:banghead:

I actually use 6th gear for turbo and big nitrous pulls because of the gearing to give me more time to pull than the other gears. Other than that 5th gear.

wow, 6th gear, that seems to me like it would take longer to spool up the drum on the dyno and actually hurt your HP numbers. Kinda like doing a car in overdrive is my thinking but I am new to this and this just my opinion not trying say as a matter of fact. If I put my bike on the dyno and did a 3rd or 4th gear pull wouldn't the drum spool up faster thus increasing my HP numbers? Just looking for some clarification???

welcome to the world of "dyno wars"

the numbers? mean little... what they excel at is creating a baseline to see if changes help/hurt your setup..

as far as real numbers go? you can go to 10 dynos and get 10 sets of numbers.. go back a week later and even they will change to some extent..

Do not get hung up on the real numbers, worry about the +/- from one engine/tuning change to the next..

point taken, so far changes have all been +'s. I was just getting discuraged with the numbers, thank for the info. I'll keep tweaking my map and see if I can't safely squeeze some ponies out of it. BTW I'm running 10lbs on a stock motor with 20k anything I should worry about? So far so good though, haven't heard it knock or lean out on the dyno.