Best washing techniques

BUSAFETT

Registered
OK- Today my bike is really due for a bath, and this is my first time cleaning her up.

Does anyone have recommendations for do's/don'ts, soaps to use/not use, towel or 150mph air-dry?  
biggrin.gif
 Areas to avoid water contact?

Please share with the rest of the class..

BUSAFETT

<!--EDIT|BUSAFETT
Reason for Edit: None given...|1144594633 -->

I have a really soft bristle brush that I use, lightly towel dry, let it set and drip dry for a little while then wax and then go ride.
wink.gif

Spray bike with low pressure water ,just rinse off the dirty areas , dry with a mircofiber towel while misting a detailing spray(as a lube) , then wax with non abrasive wax and polish with a clean mirco fiber towel .

The key is not to scratch the paint
If the bike is really dirty I will use a lambskin mitt ,bucket of soapy car wash soap and then rinse ,wash, rinse ,dry,wax.

Mark

Power wash her once a month whether she needs it or not. Anything more is taking away from my riding time.

When I do wash I dry her off with the leaf blower...works great and gets me really weird looks from the neighbors  
tounge.gif
[/QUOTE]
Talk about looks , I dry my dogs with leaf blower, they like it but I do get the funny looks from the neighbors

Mark

The local Hooters has a bike wash on Saturdays in the summertime! Not that I would guide anyone to do such a thing but...
hot.gif

Never use water only use lemon pledge cleans and wax at same time (shh its a secret) and WD40 on a rag to clean wheels.

wipe and wax only, and wd40 on the wheels also, only water she gets is if we ride in the rain
tounge.gif

Wash mine at the car wash every so often. Key is not to get too close to the radiator and Ignition area, wipe down and blow off.