A tribute of strength... In Kevin's own words!

ks-waterbug

Group Buy Guy
Donating Member
Registered
Thursday, October 18, 2007
A little about my journey so far.....

I know I am late getting this blog started, maybe I am a true member of the procrastonators club after all. Maybe a bit about my road so far.

My name is Kevin, 36 years old, married for 13 years to my wonderful wife Brenda. We do not have any kids, consider us DINKS- Dual Income No Kids. I am a Christian, saved by the Grace of God when I was 12 years old. Hobbies include playing and coaching softball for Crossfire Ministries and lots of time spent on 2 wheels on one of my motorcycles. I am an Assistant Parts Manager for MR Cycles, surrounded by machines that I do enjoy all day.

In late July I was having some going to the bathroom issues. After a couple of trips to my General and being doubled over in pain on August 12th, I was finally scheduled for a colonospocy on August 14th. Being my 1st time I could actually remember being put to sleep, I was terrified so to speak. Everyone told me the prep was the hardest part...I wish that had held true in my case.....

Two tumors were found with a 80% block of my colon, now I see why I was having trouble. My GI doc told me I would be having surgery with in a few days. My 1st meeting with my surgeon was on August 16th. Great, put to sleep again I thought......I was more at ease after leaving the Surgeons office though. Surgery was scheduled for August 20th. On August 14th, I layed this Cancer issue at my Saviours feet, his response "I will get you through this son". I actually have a peace about having cancer......thank you Jesus!

My surgeon believed from looking at the pics from the scope that the turmors were contained in the colon. Once I was opened up, susprise...one was outside the colon wall and against my small intestine. So long 19cm of my colon, synoria 9cm of my small intestine. Does that make me a "Semi Colon twice removed"?