New To Hayabusa.org And Biking

jfskibumjr

Registered
Hey guys, this is my first post on hayabusa.org, but I've been looking around for a long time. I thought that since I'm going to be taking some safety and learner's courses that I might as well make a post. I've always loved the Hayabusa, but I am not an idiot. I know my own limitations and will NOT attempt starting on one. (A bit different from the other boneheaded posts you get from new riders on this forum, huh?)

However, I'm not certain what bike I want to start on. The cheapest option for me currently would be a GSX-R750, since my dad owns one. He said he'd be willing to sell to me way lower than a dealership. However, 750cc is still a HUGE bike for a newbie like myself. Do you think its doable, and, if so, what recommendations do you have?

If it helps, I'm 18 years old, about 5'7 and 125lbs. I've been driving cars (nothing high-end and no bikes) for the past 3 years or so.

Last edited:
First....welcome to the org..
That's alot of bike for a beginner. Mix in the 18yr old maturity, invincibility level (we all remember those days) it makes a bad combo. Not to mention the premium your gonna pay for insurance. Theres plenty of options to hone the skills on something less aggressive. There's rarely any do-overs with a mishap on two wheels. Whatever you decide, be most careful.

Welcome, and like 13013 said this is an inherently dangerous hobby. I would hope your father would be a good judge of your maturity level and if he thinks to can handle it then I wish you the best of luck and safe rides ahead. My son is 12 and has been racing for 5 years and will be on 2 wheels for life is my guess. I still dread the day he wants to put a bike on the streets.

It's your life and your an adult so you can do what you want.

But if you came here asking for advice then here is my 2 cents worth.
First if you came to this sight I can only assume you are interested in a sport bike style of bike.