I'm thinking about one, too

whart

Registered
FJ Rider's query about whether he was ready for a 'Busa was on target for me, too. I started riding about 4 years ago (at the age of 46) after a number of years behind the wheel of high performance cars. I never considered myself athletic, or necessarily coordinated, but I took the MSS course and bought my first bike, a Ducati Monster 750, which was easy to maneuver, light and handled pretty well. I found the Ducati a little small for my frame 6'1" 235lbs, and rode it less than I wanted to because after a couple hours, I felt beat up.
I bought a V-Rod from a car colleague last year- I put brembos, mid-controls and other goodies on it to make it more rideable for me, and found that it compensated for the shortcomings of the Ducati, but with obvious "baggage" of its own- too big, heavy and not enough road feel. I still ride the V-Rod occasionally, but it's not my choice for great distances either.
Bought a Moto Guzzi Le Mans (Nero Corsa) very recently and fell in love. The bike is much more predictable than the Ducati, turns-in beautifully and tracks well (it has the full Ohlins suspension), and while it is no power monster, it is fun to ride, and quite comfortable. I learned from the seating position on this bike that I have more comfort with the sports position than i do with the upright (the Monster is more upright than the superbikes and the Harley is, well, a Harley). My weight is no longer on my tailbone, and I don't really feel fatigued at the wrists, either, in riding the Guzzi.
So, this is a long precis to saying that a big sport bike might actually be the ticket.
I'd love your thoughts. Thanks in advance.

if your looking for a super-comfortable long-trip bike, no.

if your ready for a comfortable fast, turnable, lots of torque bike... its the one... imho. you can add bar risers and custom seats and footrests for extra comfort.... plenty of luggage accessories available, etc....... the list goes on.