if you look long enough...........

aussiekeeper

Registered
You will find answers. 4-5 weeks ago, I changed the oil in my steering damper to a heavier viscosity. And I forgot about it..............

Enter the last 5-6 rides. I have been getting the feeling that I will never really "get it" when it comes to cornering. After all, I have been riding non-sport bikes for over 40 years. But lately, I have noticed a heavy feeling when I turn into a sweeper. So, I'm thinking, maybe this "feeling" I'm getting is just me, you know, I'm just never going to get it. But, not too long ago, I was getting more comfortable with turning, tucking and all of that. I have been reading the books on how to handle the turns. I have been out by myself on the backroads pushing a little harder every time and getting more and more confident. I am not afraid, but I am also no fool. I'm not going to crash, so I have been doing increasingly more each session on the road. But lately it has not been working for me. I read a lot and try to learn as much as possible about everything that interests me. And, I have been very concerned about this cornering thing. Then I found this............Thanks Kirk, who ever you are..............

A lot of riders appear to have a phobia of wagging handlebars. To the point that they put thicker oil in their stock steering dampers or spend perfectly good money on an aftermarket damper and then screw in a bunch of damping.

Heck, I know of Hayabusa riders (who really ride), who have removed their stock dampers and run no damper.

The only purpose for aftermarket dampers is to allow people to run chassis geometry that they wouldn't be able to get away with any other way, and/or because they run Dunlop's front-line U.K. made racing tires, which are notoriously unstable. They are not intended to use as a crutch for bad riding habits, nor are they intended for use as a pre-emptive cure for anxiety attacks.