Half Mile Noob seeks advice

bazooki

Registered
I am just about to sign up to my first ever half mile event that will put me up in a friendly charity competition against some big horsepower exotic cars. I have been riding for over 30 years and have had my 2005 busa for 3+ years now but I have absolutely zero dragracing or top speed event experience. Of course I have spent lots of time above 250 km/h on highways but never in front of an audience or against competition. The event is at the end of August at an airport runway and runs exactly half a mile with I think another quarter mile for braking. Some of the competition includes a 1000 hp Corvette Z06, 1000 hp Nissan GTR, 600 hp Nissan GTR as well as various Lambos, Ferraris and other sweet four wheeled hardware.

Anyhoo....any advice or tips from experienced runners of this type event would be very much appreciated.:please:

I wouldn't run against those cars unless there was a large concrete divider between us. Some of those people have absolutely no clue on how to drive or control their car. good luck to you

I wouldn't run against those cars unless there was a large concrete divider between us. Some of those people have absolutely no clue on how to drive or control their car. good luck to you

Its only solo runs so no head to head against the cars. You get three runs and I believe they are using a radar gun at the end of the half mile to get your speed.

The best tip I can think of at this time is...Give us some pictures of the event! :thumbsup:

Yeah the big day is tomorrow and it looks like they have 60 cars running with some being very serious 1000hp cars...my biggest concern is actually identifying the half mile mark and braking in time before I run out of runway...they have a 1/4 mile for braking zone. I am also a bit wary of the tar strips out there so I will have to decide on a good line.