Engine knocking after oil change??

KrunkyTB

Registered
Evidently i didnt Title my last topic right. didnt get any views, I changed oil and filter, added aprox 3.7L of oil, and now engine knocks when i started. I only let it run like 30 seconds sounded terrible. I did not prime the filter, i totally forgot, after running it for 30 seconds, cooling for 5mins etc, about 10 times i went to pull filter back off and check to make sure oil is in it, there is, oil light is on and engine still sounds as if it is knocking, What is going on here?? total newbie when it comes to bikes and oil changes, but changing oil shouldnt have caused anything to happen... so i thought! What did i do wrong or is it supposed to do this and im not letting it run long enough? im half afraid too!

hey, did the same thing the other day...

Check the oil level in the sight glass. Your engine is starved for oil. You have enough in there. I did this. I cranked it, let it idle for a few seconds, blipped the throttle and tac'ed up to about 4k rpm's twice and that forced the oil from the reservoir to the engine. KNockin went away. Just make sure to follow manual's instructions and top off oil after you have let it run for a min or so.

Let me know if this helps, did for mine

Did you look at your drain plug? Any chance it was leaking?

double checked everything, sight glass is full, was thinking i had too much oil maybe, but shouldnt knock with to much, i would let some out if it wasnt knocking

ok knocking went away when i cranked it 2x to 4k, so i let it run 3 mins or so, went back in garage and smelled very funny, check sight glass with bike level and all way to top, so evedintly i overfilled it, but i know i couldnt have added more then 3.7 but what do i know. would oil overfill make it smoke and smell funny?

When I change oil and filter (as I always change both) I put 1 gallon in.