Can 1 person change an exhaust ?

C_Henry

Registered
Just wanted to know if changing out a stk exhaust for a 4 into 1 can be done by 1 person ? I'm gonna try it today as its just me here by myself.
biggrin.gif

Just wanted to know if changing out a stk exhaust for a 4 into 1 can be done by 1 person ? I'm gonna try it today as its just me here by myself.  
biggrin.gif
As long as you have good solid stands, should be no problem. Are you doing the pair valve block off as well?? Might as well do that at the same time ;)

There is a great thread or tutorial on installing an Akrapovic system, I couldn't find it in my search though
sad.gif

I did mine with no stands... and I'm not a mechanic.

But I DID stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Seriously, just go slow and follow the instructions. You will be fine.

Ok guys, just took the stk exhaust off with help. There's a little more to it than meets the eye. Had to remove the fan, and tilt the radiator forward. I'll update you later on the install.

You might want to check out the threads here on that whole deal. Some things may not be a surprise to you if you do.

I did it two days after I had lasik surgery. Couldn't really see crap. Did it all by feel and really had no issues except for being a dumbass and putting my hand on the headers (while it was running) to check to see if there were any leaks.

It won't be too bad... Just getting to those header bolts is kind of tough with fan/radiator in the way... You can definetly do it by yourself though... It just may take you some time to make enough room to get the header off/on...

You will NEED to do the PAIR block off to prevent back firing... When you first swap the exhaust, she will backfire on deacceleration...

CLoud

and the other thing, those gaskets for the exhaust ports.... you might find that you will need to replace them while you are in there.... could be too late but if you get any leaks, I bet those are the culprit.
cool.gif