7000th post...

Nice.. congrats.. I'm assuming your going on to a second career now?

either way.. sounds like you were in the right place at the right time.. in other words... blessed.

course after 15 yrs with em' you've earned whatever the agreement is.
biggrin.gif

Well guys/gals, this is it!! The moment I've been waiting for, so I meticulously decided to use my 7000th post as the milestone. Today, Aug. 18th, 2005 is officially my LAST DAY of work for ConocoPhillips. I've been working here as a Lab Analyst for 15+ years and now the day has come to say goodbye. I didn't make a spectacle out of my situation, but for those of you who don't know, my position was deleted because a new company purchased us. The new company offered me two jobs in New Orleans, but the money wasn't quite what I wanted to actually move to New Orleans. So I decided to take early retirement with COP (this is how it's listed on the NYSE...) and receive my severence package. Kinda funny because I'm not quite 40 yrs. old and I'm retiring...
biggrin.gif
I've never talked about it because I actually view all this as a blessing. I've been contemplating leaving the company for a couple years now, and now I can do it and put some major change in my pocket to boot. I'm sitting pretty good financially (maybe it's because I'm not married...
laugh.gif
), and I have other plans anyway. I've been interviewing and testing with other companies primarily in the Houston, TX area because most of my family already lives there. I'm sharing all this because it marks a pivotal time in my life and I figured why not share my thoughts at this particular moment with the people that I've grown to know as "FAMILY...", because I do consider you guys a family. It's been fun, but you all won't see much of me around for the next couple of weeks anyway. I don't do much posting at home, and since 90% of all my posts come from work, the well... uhhh... you all can figure that one out.
biggrin.gif