Turbo Lag

rrogers1973

Registered
How do you guys deal with the turbo lag. I have a 16g with 10lbs and you really cant go WOT until 5000rpm. You add timing and pull fuel? That would seem a little risky to me. Nitrous with a Hobbs? What can I do so I can do low rpm punch runs?
rock.gif
?

I think the only way to get quicker boost is to upgrade your turbo. I believe a dual ball bearing turbo will spool around 3000rpm but they tend to get pricey.

Mine spools quickly and around 4000.When I first put mine on I was thinking the same thing but it ended up being a a fuel problem and after I got that corrected it was a whole new bike.. I would go over everything one more time and see if you have any leaks or anything like that cause it should spool up pretty quickly... I am still learning turbos so I may be wrong but thats been my expereince so far

a 16g should spool alot faster then that
heck my t70 (70mm turbo) spools at 7k and its rated to flow 700HP lol

Mine spools quickly and around 4000.When I  first put mine on I was thinking the same thing but it ended up being a a fuel problem and after I got that corrected  it was a whole new bike.. I would  go over everything one more time and see if you have any leaks or anything like that cause it should spool up pretty quickly... I am still learning turbos so I may be wrong but thats been my expereince so far
What size turbo do you have and what was the fuel problem?

Sounds about right to me....maybe a TAD slow...My old T3 would start spooling around 4000 but really wasn't making much of anything until 5000, finally at 6000 it would be making its full 10 lbs.

What spring is in your wastegate? Lighter the spring, softer the spool. A 10lb spring will spool much faster then an 8lb, even before the point that its making a full 10lbs of boost.....ofcourse the problem with a heavier spring is you will have a higher peak boost and anything over 8-9lbs is a no no on pump gas.