Ticket - ends justify the means

Bronto

Registered
A riding buddy and I recieved identical tickets. Going at near 65 mph in a 55 mph zone. But we both got tickets for 80.0 mph. He since joined the Air Force and can't contest the ticket. Both of us have done the Wirtten Trial by declaration and still guilty. He had a simple declaration and I had extensive 12 page document with 5 photos and 3 diagrams. Now I have a Novo Trial.
Cause I'm not an expert with radar. Using the officiers expertise will help prove my points. When I recall the events of the day. I will say I was going the basic speed law with the prevailing traffic(65 mph). My observations of my speed before the passinglane of 60-65mph. As 1st witness to My riding buddy saying if CHP stuck us with 70 mph He might of almost believed it.
We think the CHP used a calibration readout of 80.0 mph exactly. Either didn't get a clear radar display or didn't like how we slowed from our peak speed but he didn't lock it in time. To cast doubt on multiple vehicle ticketing. We both obviously were going different speeds in the passing lane. I almost ran the lead rider over
biggrin.gif

In the boonies enough, no one contests traffic tickets. Saving time and money just paying it. The Court House is official Superior Court with a bonnified Judge. All day case loads of much more serious offenses, from DUI, suspended licenses, Parol violations, Muder, assault, resisting arrest to civil trails against corporations. All have their lawyers and public defenders. Months of checking the Court's calander of court cases. Mine will be the only minor single speeding ticket contested by defendant themself. I feel like someone asked for volunters and everyone took two steps back, left me standing there.
laugh.gif
laugh.gif

What you think ? any refinement is appreciated.
Cross examination - CHP officier.

Show CHP station
------------------