SUSPENSION

I hear ya Ray, I'm a carpenter, much more tooled up to build decks than to work on bikes, so sometimes these things are much more cost effective to have someone else do it. Besides I loose $400 in one day not working.
On the weekends it's even more $.
Hell, I'll trade off mods for carpentry services any day.
biggrin.gif

Right Ray.. I would think most ppl would know if they will save or loose money doing it themself. Springs $110, Valves $105 and oil $10. But close enough, and if you'd loose $400 in a day, your much better than me. I'll do the mods if you lay the carpet in my basement! Whatcha want
smile.gif

You should still check your ride height after the forks are on the bike.  But they should have it set very close anyway.

You comparaed them to the $2800 ohlins.  Not a fair comparason.  
wink.gif

It cost me about $400 for the parts and about $400 for the labor(PPS in LA did the labor), to get ohlin's internals in my stock forks.

$600 racetech vs   $800 ohlins

You're going to love them in the twisties!!
beerchug.gif

Ok I'll step up and be the neophyte here. I am really interested in doing new springs and oil following the Step by Step rebuild that CAT3 wrote up. My question is how do you adjust the Gold valves? Do you have to take the forks apart to adjust them? Or do you just set and forget?

CharlesBusa, you're right about just doing Ohlins internals. My deal was wierd, the guy I bought the gold Busa tubes from just bought the $2800 Ohlins forks. Actually, at the time, I didn't even know Ohlins did just internals! Anyways, I am also waiting for a redone rear Race Tech shock so I might as well do pics of that install too. BTW, I had no complaints re: OEM but dialed in suspension, I guess it's only going to be better now! Raydog