Shifting Gears

PocketRocket

Donating Member
Registered
Ok I am totally new to bikes..Yes My busa is my first bike...And my friend just bought one ( a busa ) and it is his first bike..We have discussed how to shift ..I say after its in first just let off the throttle and shift ..He says to use the clutch B/T gears .... Who is correct? If I need the clutch B/T gears then how does my air shifter work?. Sorry for the Duh HUH questions , but I dont know what is the proper way to do anything on a bike..I drive mine with no problems , its not that scarry or heart pounding experiance for a beginner.. BUT I do have a LOT or respect for the machine!! I will respect any and all comments and it will be greatly appreciated.
crazy.gif

Biggest advise to you is to take the MSF course and buy protective gear(helmet, jacket, pants, boots, and gloves).

Many people use clutchless UPshifting. Its a little harder on the tranny than using the clutch, but nothing it can't handle.

You should use the clutch when DOWNshifting.

Personally, I always use the clutch. I don't drag race but I do go to trackdays. I like the "feel" when using the clutch in a corner. Doesn't matter in a straightaway though.

Congrats on your new bike, and welcome to the .org.  Got pics?

Shifting with or without the clutch is a user preference.  I've personally made it back home when the clutch lever fell off my ride when getting on the freeway.  ...and home was over an hour away with the last several miles off the freeway.

In my opinion clutchless shifting is actually a little smoother when done right.  I can go up or down in the gears just as smoothly. Over the years, I've developed a modified clutch shifting method, in that while I do use it, I barely touch it when shifting.  Just a little quick nudge.

Anyway, welcome, and you two be careful out there.

beerchug.gif