Registering an out of state bike in CA under 7500?

s4play

Registered
I'm not sure how many of you live out here in the beautiful state of CA but we sure do have some of the most PITA rule when it comes to the DMV.

My buddy learned the hard way so this is how I know but the DMV will not allow out of state bikes with under 7500 miles to be registered in this state. Has nothing to do with emissions so don't know why they have this rule but in my buddy's case he was stuck between a rock and hard place.

Basically he cannot ride the bike legally in the state since it's not registered but until he put on another 1100 miles on the bike he could not register it! So it was a catch 22....

In the end he just rode it the 1100 miles on back roads to get the mileage up to 7500 and finally sold the bike.

I've been shopping for a 2006 white busa and found a few out of state and most have super low miles. My question is has anyone ever tried to buy another speedo/dash unit with a higher mileage reading?

Just curious....

Find a friend with a gen1 busa that is over 7500 miles + swap the panels for registration. Swap 'em back when you're done
winkold.gif

It is because of emissions. CA is trying to prevent people from buying new bikes in AZ, NV or OR and registering them in CA. There are CA models and 49 state models.

You can ride the bike until you get above 7500 then tell the DMV the bike just enetered the state.

Borrow a buddies instrument cluster, get the inspection, then swap back.

Or find a crooked/lazy DMV inspector. They're out there.

Note, none of these are legal.
winkold.gif

buy it, have it shipped to my house, and i will ride it across country until it is showing 7500 and deliver it to you...all i ask is you buy me a plane ticket so i can get home
beerchug.gif

The best thing is to have a cross country ride until it has accumulated 7500 miles. Just of all the fun you could have reaching out to people across America or just seeing the sights.