Oil pan cracked

1911boy

Registered
just got my first hayabusa (not first bike) last week. i took it in today for the first (600 mile) service, and was told the oil pan was cracked from the factory. they said they would cover under warranty, but that the oil was very low. anyone had this problem, or know if the motor may have been damaged. thanks

The bike's oil level should have been just fine when you took it in for the 1st 600mi service...

A cracked pan could be the culprit... but I'm no mechanic.
tounge.gif

It should definitely be covered in the warranty.

Welcome to the org!

It's a rule of thumb around here to post pics of your bike... and to introduce yourself.

I've never heard of anyone having that sort of trouble, let alone in the first 600 miles...

<!--EDIT|PaNDeM1C
Reason for Edit: "bored"|1155106958 -->

Also... when you took it in for the 1st service didn't the dealer mechanics answer any questions you might have had/should have asked about the engine?

it is quite possible that the engine could have been hurt...was the oil level ok when you checked it during the past week? hopefully, everything will come out ok...if they are agreeing that it came from the factory cracked, i would get them to put that in writing if at all possible so if issues come up at a later date...btw - welcome and congrats on the new bike

I dont think the engine would have been damaged unless you rode around with the oil press light on... Get the dealerships findings in writing and keep them for future reference just to C.Y.A. Sounds like you should be good to go after a new oil pan... but who knows... depending on where it was cracked maybe the dealership is the one that cracked it... checking to see if the oil drain plug was tight before they serviced it when you bought it... who knows!?! Welcome to the board and keep us updated on what happens!