Newbie with first bike,First Time Riding

grayautomotive

Registered
Ok everyone i understand the pricinples of Mechanics of a transmission and motor being im a automotive mechanic so to jump on a bike and knowing when to switch gears and down shifting pricinples is basic to me but When riding do you Release throttle,Clutch then shift or do you keep throttle at same position,clutch then release. I have been letting my throttle roll back when im shifting but if i dont have it back at rpms when i left off the clutch well you know what happens. Let me know.

:welcome: to the org. First, the MSF course is a very good recommendation. If I were you I would sign up and take that class ASAP. Secondly, yes you do roll out of the gas when shifting. It takes practice getting the timing right, but basically you roll out of the gas while squeezing the clutch at the same time, then shift to the next gear, and then roll into the gas while releasing the clutch. Practice makes perfect; ride safe.

D

I just wanted to say thanks to your answers. Im taking my bike down to bike week next weekend and i honestly never road a motorcycle. I bought it and i have went around the block a alot until i got my learners permit. But the controls are fimialar to me even though i never road a motorcycle hill not even a scooter. But i guess its only because i never had a chance too. But I will be safe going to bike week so with wall to wall traffic it will be just scoot and ride then sit... But i plan to take the class as soon as i get back though i really want to learn everything but one of my fears is when you think you know everything, When you think you really know how to ride thats when you get hurt because you become less careless. Im not a 100+mph person but i will let my balls hang while i ride though.