New insurance player

pward76

Donating Member
Registered
Back in 04, when I bought my busa, my insurance company would not touch it, even though I have had my house and all my vehicles with them for several years.

I ended up going with State Farm and am being written throught their Fire and Casualty company (higher rates) since I didn't place any additional business with them.  I checked into moving my business to State Farm, but they could not match the price I get with my current carrier due to the "length of service" discount I get.  ANYWAY,

I am a consultant, and I am currently on assignment at my insurance company.  They have come out with a new program for motorcycles, snowmobiles, ATVs, etc.

I got the new marketing stuff today at work and here are some quotes from it.

"Progressive, State Farm and other companies offerred products for "toys" so Nationwide developed Rev & Ride to help the company become one of the top three insurance companies in the nation by 2009"

"In Rev & Ride, it (segmentation) offers pricing so a smaller, less expensive Honda Shadow gets a lower rate than a high-end sportbike like a Suzuki Hyabusa."  (The incorrect spelling is theirs.)

Ohio was the first state to offer it, but it is now available in Michigan, Illinois, Iowa, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin.  Taking advantage of the snowmobile season.  In the spring, Virginia will come online with North Carolina, Florida, and California to follow in the summer.

The product offers medical payments and covers superbikes.  It also covers towing, repair and labor and offers multi-vehicle discounts.

I called my agent this afternoon and he has not yet quoted anyone on the product (not unusual for Iowa in the winter), but he will call me back in the morning with a price.  

I don't expect them to be even close, but it will be interesting to see how they compare with State Farm.  I will post up the numbers when I get them.

<!--EDIT|pward76
Reason for Edit: None given...|1137105201 -->