Matching front and rear tires...

Over_Easy

GEO-STABILIZATION EXPERT
Donating Member
Registered
For starters, I've heard, via opinion only, that it is not a good idea to run two different makes of tires on the front and rear. I'm now in the need of my first rear tire (front is still good as with most bikes - 2 fronts for every rear) and believe a diff. rear from the OE Bridgestone front tire should not cause any problems.

Here's why:
Each tire runs independently; brakes, suspension, free rolling vs. power. I'm not talking about matching a supersport tire with a touring tire. both would be Z rated tires. Why should there be any problems?

I've talked with those that have done this and was told they can't notice any difference. Does anyone have a diff. take on this?

I have to tell you that I have been riding sport bikes for 21 years, (all Gixxers of some sort or another). I have never mix/matched tires. It just never seemed like a good idea to me. Here is my biggest reason why. Just because it is a "Z" rated tire does not make it the same. The compound may be different ie, a little softer or harder than the other one. That is just my opinion.

Don

On auto tires a tread rating of 240 on this tire is not the same as a tread rating of 240 on another make of tire. There is not industry standard for "240" being this hard or soft. Each tire maker uses their own scale. I have never looked into the tread rating of a motorcycle tire like on the tires for the Cobra.

Don

I'll mix types ....but usually not brands.

I did run all the way to the gap from St. Pete...all over NC...and back with an OEM front and a pirelli dragon SC race take-off on the rear (only because the front pirelli turned out to be bad).
Not what I would normally do...but there wasn't anything 'dangerous' about it.

This next set going on after my pilots will be an Avon Viper AV59 front & Azaro AV46 rear Two different series (and traction levels) of tires..but the same brand.