Kickstand

Hamlet2020

Registered
My gen 1 hayabusa leans too much for my liking. I just bought it and noticed it was lowered 3". I raised it back to stock with OEM rear suspension links and raising front forks back to stock. It was leaning about 40 degrees on the stand. I noticed the stand had been torched and bent some. I tried to heat it and rebend it but did not have the heat to do it. I called a guy in Tampa at a salvage yard and he pulled an OEM kickstand for me off a Gen 1 hayabusa. I remounted this one, and the lean is barely improved. I see that if I widen the foot plate, it will hit my muffler. So, I called a guy at a fabrication shop, and he said that he could lengthen either one of my stands. I am new to this stuff. Do you think this is a good idea? Any other thoghts?

Mine is fine but on another bike the leg was bent (bowed) a bit so I took it to a welder who heated it, straightend it and added a steel rod to the back of it which strengthened it even more. Good luck.

1610669681799.png

I had to replace both the bracket, stand and the bolt on my Gen 2 as the holes had become enlarged and the stand had way too much movement. Once I replaced the 3 items, the bike straightened up from its "way too far" lean to a more normal lean. Plus I feel better knowing there's less chance of the stand snapping at some random time, (unlikely, but you never know)

Ok. I measured the lean on the hayabusa and it was high. With 1.25" of block under footplate it came out to be 10 degrees. My zx10r is 13 degrees with 190/55 like my busa has. I went to a welder shop, actually a guy who builds race cars here in Florida. He cut side stand then welded a 3" piece of steel into the stand, sanded and painted the area. Here are the results.
IMG_0015.jpg

The new lean angle on the sidestand is 10 degrees. I used the kickstand that came with the lowered bike because it bent around the muffler. The other unused one is stock. It cost 80$.

Also, I put new tires on it. Rear went to 190/55