Is my tire safe for another 50 miles?

maoz

Registered
My rear tire (D207) is balding in the center and there is a faint line in the center of it (it is the band, or whatever, it is called). How big of a concern is this? I am scheduled to get a new tire put on Tuesday (I'll be out of town Friday-Monday) and I want to ride around town tomorrow since it has been raining for the last week and tomorrow is supposed to be very nice weather wise. Is 50-75 miles a real concern if I can see this band? Forgive me if this is an absurd question - I have no experience with this.

mine is sitting in the garage for the exact same reason... it's gonna be beautiful this weekend.. but i'm not willing to risk it personally... if you do it will spin very easily when your on that part of the tire.. that means if you ride it be easy and be especially easy if your running it hard from left to right transitions..

i personally don't think it's worth the risk.. the tire is toast.. hehe..

look at it this way.. not being able to ride till tuesday will teach you a valuable leason about having a reserve tire... hehe trust me... I am learning right now.

you DO realize your riding a MOTORCYCLE and not driving a 4 wheeled vehicle right???

Your margin for error is just about 0.0001% for a blowout or lost traction on a bike. When you push a tire for "just a couple more miles" on a car, you dont dont low-side, hi-side, or ass over tea kettle!! But your busa will

Your tires sound BEYOND bald, dude. leave it in the garage, nice days will be here soon enough. Be patient!

Sounds like it is as bad as I thought - I'll take the cage tomorrow. Thanks for your advice guys
smile.gif

If you are showing chord that is concern. Don't chance the ride. get your new tire on period.

Doesn't take long for the Busa to eat that rubber up. Last year
I was living in Myrtle Beach during fall Harley week. To sum it
up rear tire bald on Wed.....30-40 minute ride Wed night....