Heated Helmet?

Audiomaker

Registered
Ok so it's starting to get a bit cold around here and I'm wearing more and more layers...

Because of gas prices I'm going to attempt something that I've never done before (at least not in the Pacific Northwest), which is to ride through the winter.

As I'm riding tonight, I'm pretty toasty with my layered gear. My hands are a bit cold, but I'm about to install heated grips as my Held Rain Star gloves are about as thick as I'd like to go.

The other part of me that is cooling off is my head and of course being the over-thinker that I've been accused of here (well...and elsewhere), I"m wondering why they make almost everything heated except helmets?

It doesn't seem like it would be that hard to retrofit a helmet with some heating elements... but I'm trying to figure out why that isn't something we're already seeing?

Pants, Jackets, socks, gloves... they make everything heated except this?

Anyway, I was searching Google and found a video about a guy who made a heated helmet here.

I also tried to find a matching outfit and acc's like the inventor has, but obviously he's cornered the market on that look :)

Soooo....

Heated helmets anyone?

Sean

We snowmobile when it's -30C with just a regular helmet and face mask. You really don't need a heated helmet.

so how much are you going to spend on all that heated gear?$$$$$$$$ how much are you going to save on gas? does it even come close to paying for the gear? now factor in freezing your nads off every day. Back in 81 when I got married I had a 72 toyota and a 400 yamaha, she didnt have a car, guess what i rode to work for two years rain or shine every day. screw dat:laugh:

Get heated liners that go under your regular gear. Much less money. I wear a balaclava under my helmet when it drops below freezing.

Get heated liners that go under your regular gear. Much less money. I wear a balaclava under my helmet when it drops below freezing.