Generational gap or region??

RangerThat

Registered
The last year or so I've been noticing a ton of new riders starting out with bikes that are way below a 600cc range. When I started riding sport bikes in 2000 all my friends said to start out with a 600cc. (Nobody rode anything below a 600cc. in the south east.)

Is it just me or is this generation of sport bike riders just too scared or too safe to try anything that's a 600cc or above???

The last year or so I've been noticing a ton of new riders starting out with bikes that are way below a 600cc range. When I started riding sport bikes in 2000 all my friends said to start out with a 600cc. (Nobody rode anything below a 600cc. in the south east.)

Is it just me or is this generation of sport bike riders just too scared or too safe to try anything that's a 600cc or above???
Around here at least it's the insurance that's killing off motorcycling....some keep to the smaller displacements to alleviate the high insurance premiums...

Dang, never thought about that. Those are good points about the insurance cost as well as the styling.
I'd ride one of those little bikes in a heartbeat....

A few years ago I went into a dealership and they had 4 Honda CBRs all sitting next to each other...a 300, 600, 650 (twin), and 1000 all in the exact same color and graphics...I should have taken a picture but I had a flip phone in those days....

I'd ride one of those little bikes in a heartbeat....

A few years ago I went into a dealership and they had 4 Honda CBRs all sitting next to each other...a 300, 600, 650 (twin), and 1000 all in the exact same color and graphics...I should have taken a picture but I had a flip phone in those days....
Had to laugh at the flip phone reference

Dang, never thought about that. Those are good points about the insurance cost as well as the styling.