Gaining Weight!

Ok... I will take a stab at this troll.

First my disclaimer... WARNING: working out and exercise can be dangerous. you can be seriously injured, crippled or killed. The opinions, stories and ideas presented here are my own and do not constitute a recommendation of or endorsement for any particular or general use. You should seek a professional medical evaluation before starting an exrcise program.  If you choose to workout, you do so at your own risk.

Next, my credentials... I am a certified personal trainer with the NSPA ( www.nspainc.com ) and I have run a marathon, taken two cracks at Mt. Rainier (working on my third one for Summer 2009) and lift like a mad man.

You are an ectomorph (this is your somatype). If you measure your wrist you will find it is on the thin side compared to some of the bigger boys. What does this mean to you? It means you are a hard gainer. Don't fret... Two-time Mr. Olypmia, Frank Zane is also an ecto... I am an ectomorph and weighed 145 pounds when I got married (I am 6' tall). Currently I weigh 190 pounds at ~8% body fat.

Do not simply try to gain weight. As an ecto, if you really pack on the poundage without proper diet and training, you will only add fat. This is death, as your LDL's (bad cholesterol) will shoot through the roof and your HDL's (good stuff) will drop drastically. On top of that, you will risk heart conditions out the wazoo and you will look frumpy on the beach to boot.

You need to SLOWLY add muscle mass, if you want to gain healthy weight. After you have gotten past your initial gain (I could pack 20 pounds of muscle on you in your first year) you will only gain about 5 pounds of good solid muscle per year. So, if you are 150 now and want to be a solid 180, it will take you at least 3 years of hard work and detailed planning.

If you are serious about gaining, Mr. Ecto... Then you must follow some simple principles:

1. Track your current calorie intake;