Engine Builder/Hayabuse shop on the east coast

Wastintime

Registered
Hey everyone,

First of all, hi, brand new to the forum and this is my first post. I apologize if this post isn't that original, but after searching I only found a lot of posts on west coast builders.

To give a little bit of background, and I'm sure this is sacreligious on this forum, but I'm putting a Hayabusa motor into a race car (I attached a picture of what it will look close to, btw).
I'm actually a pro-driver and I work for a non-profit in DC that works with low-income, minority, youth called KaleidoLINKS. I run an educational program for them which stresses math, physics, chemistry, etc... and our laboratory happens to be race cars and race tracks. Right now we're actually building a Westfield XTR2 kit car from the ground up with the kids. The build is actually almost done, we should, well, we have to have the car done in 3 weeks. You can find out more about it here: KaleidoLINKS - KL Power / KL Racing if you'd like to learn more.

The car will actually be street legal and competing in 2010 in both a National NASA Time Trial Series and the 2010 One Lap of America.

During the course of the build I made a very bad decision, I let someone talk me out of building our motor into a race motor. We found a crashed '06 Busa with 1400 miles on the motor and gearbox for next to nothing. While the bike was unridable, the motor ran fine and you could shift gears, so hopefully everything is working. At the time the thought was, well we have a working motor, why mess with it. But now, we need another motor, another dry sump kit, and that motor built...