Draining the fuel tank with the pump?

jphilipson

Registered
Just wanted to verify if this method is correct and harmless, as I'm no expert :laugh:

I need to pull my tank to install a bulk head fitting for my aux fuel cell. My plan is to run it till it's pretty close to empty. Then, to drain the remaining gas my plan is to use the fuel pump. Will pull the fuel supply line from the pump, then attach a clear plastic tube running into a gas can; then power cycle the key a few times to engage the pump and hopefully pump out the remaining gas.

Anything potentially harmful about doing this (other than the usual warning when working around gasoline). I mean can it hurt the pump or anything, and will it work?

Wouldnt removing the fuel pump allow the fuel to flow out of the tank freely? I think I would definitely lean towards the free and natural resource of gravity rather than putting a fuel pump at any risk whatsoever. Just a suggestion! :)

Kevin

I do this all the time. You just need to hot wire the pump for it to run without the engine on. Works great and drains the tank quickly. :thumbsup:

Wouldnt removing the fuel pump allow the fuel to flow out of the tank freely? I think I would definitely lean towards the free and natural resource of gravity rather than putting a fuel pump at any risk whatsoever. Just a suggestion! :)

Kevin

The tank is made with a design so that with pump removed some gas will still be trapped inside. It won't all just flow out.

I do this all the time. You just need to hot wire the pump for it to run without the engine on. Works great and drains the tank quickly. :thumbsup:

But like he says would simply turning key on and off thereby priming fuel pump a few times not flow remaining gas out?

Thanks! :thumbsup:

But like he says would simply turning key on and off thereby priming fuel pump a few times not flow remaining gas out?