Choke & Fast Idle

Hey guys, just looking for some advice/help. I am a newbie with bikes so bare with me. My busa has been starting up pretty ruff lately. Most of the time I have to rev the engine initially for 30 secs. to make sure it won't stall right away. I have no idea what the purpose of the fast idle switch is, all I know is that the lever is all the way down and if I bring the lever up I can't start the bike. A friend told me that the lever is suppose to be all the way up when riding the bike (only down when warming up the busa) and that I need to readjust the idle, is this true? when do you use the fast idle? Is the fast idle the same thing as a choke? any advice?

Sorry for the many questions, I REALLY LOVE THIS BIKE AND WANT TO KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!!!!!

P.S. The bike is in the Caribbeans, a little below sea level, will this impact my idle?

Hey guys, just looking for some advice/help. I am a newbie with bikes so bare with me. My busa has been starting up pretty ruff lately. Most of the time I have to rev the engine initially for 30 secs. to make sure it won't stall right away. I have no idea what the purpose of the fast idle switch is, all I know is that the lever is all the way down and if I bring the lever up I can't start the bike. A friend told me that the lever is suppose to be all the way up when riding the bike (only down when warming up the busa) and that I need to readjust the idle, is this true? when do you use the fast idle? Is the fast idle the same thing as a choke? any advice?

Sorry for the many questions, I REALLY LOVE THIS BIKE AND WANT TO KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!!!!!

P.S. The bike is in the Caribbeans, a little below sea level, will this impact my idle?