Caught in the rain

stkr00

Slower Traffic Keep Right ! ! &#
Donating Member
Registered
I got caught in the rain last night coming home from Indiana. It wasn't bad at first, but then it got to where you couldn't hardly see. I've ridden my H-D in the rain without any problems, but I'm not sure how it might affect the Busa with the air intakes on the fairing.

I would venture to guess that Suzuki designed the air box with an air/water separator, but I have no way of knowing since I'm new to the Busa. The bike ran fine, and handled really well except for that one wiggle when I went to pass and slipped on one of the white stripes :eek: That was a little scary.

Any ideas/suggestions/information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Jim

There's a little clear plastic bulb on the air box that you can take off and clean out but it doesn't drain all the time. I figure the bottom half of the air box and the filter would catch most of the water that would enter through the ram air tubes. I don't really think much if any water would actually make it to the stacks.

I think you'd pretty much have to take the garden hose straight on to get water into the stacks. I'm always careful when I wash my bike not to direct the water right at the intakes.

I have gotten stuck in some pretty heavy rain with no problems.

Thanks BulletTrain. :beerchug:

Do you know of anyone that might have an exploded view diagram of the induction system they could e-mail/post?

I just don't want to worry if I get caught in the rain again.

Jim

Thanks everyone!!! :bounce:

I can sleep well at night again. At least I'm not the only one who's ridden the busa in the rain. Now I just have to spend half the day cleaning the bike. :sad:

Thaks again,
Jim