Best way to remove rear tire

riironman

Donating Member
Registered
Ok ..this is my first time removing my rear wheel..I need direction on how to do this easily with a rear swingarm stand.

1. Remove cotter pin

2. Remove axle nut

3. Back off adjusters (loosen)

4. Slide rear axle out

5. Move wheel assy forward to remove chain from sprocket

6. Move wheel assy to the rear and remove from bike.

Good instructions start in paragraph 6-40 in the Zuk Shop manual: You'll need a 1/2in breaker bar, a 36 mm socket and a TQ wrench. Loosen up the bolt/nut on the tq arm attached to the brake assembly, pull the cotterpin on the axle nut, break tq. Loosen the chain adjusters so that you can slide the wheel forward and slip the chain off of the sprocket. A second person is helpful when you start to pull the axle nut so that the brake assembly and bracket don't drop onto your rim, with the chain off, you can manuever the wheel around the caliper and off the bike - be careful that you don't just drop the chain or the wheel on the floor. When you go to re-install, you'll do the reverse, but TQ the axle nut to 72.5 ftlbs. Hope that is simple enough... what are you doing?

MC - My manual starts the process on 6-43 and doesn't mention the brake caliper or arm removal.

Did I get the right manual???

rock.gif

MC - My manual starts the process on 6-43 and doesn't mention the brake caliper or arm removal.  

Did I get the right manual???

rock.gif
Bessie is an '01, so your manual might be a little different from mine.  But the axle goes through the brake caliper adapter/bracket, so you have to loosen the nut on the TQ arm to swivel it out of the way as you remove the axle...

<!--EDIT|MC MUSTANG
Reason for Edit: None given...|1156983321 -->

I might add that I removed the caliper and placed out of the way. Twist tie it to the rear stand.

Torque to 19 ft. pds. when reinstalling.

You can leave it on but be sure to take your time. A few have nicked there rims.

runeight

Hi Guys,