Best place to splice into wiring?

SKYGZR

Registered
To run aux running lights/acces. Looking for a place up around the front cowl. Someone mentioned using the horns "hot" wire to run their electric grips, yet looking for other alternatives tied to the Ignition switch. Planning on changing out the bases in the turn signals to make them also running lights, plus perhaps some LED's and other lighting.

The accessory port that is there should work for you which runs off the headlights. Just do a search on it. I know boost by smith makes an accessory harness that will plug into it and allow you to cleanly plug multiple things into the harness.

If you have a Gen I there's a brown wire just hanging up there for you to use. European running lights, not used on US models. Gen II I guess just run off the running lights. Key on , lights on.

Boost by Smith makes a harness to wire the Gen 2's just like the Gen 1 with the running light wire. I've been using it for two years issue-free!

I had the plug here you could have used to tie in, would only have power when key on.. you can tap off it to just watch load.....

This solve a lot for me. I filled every available terminal. I ran one hot wire from the battery, and a 2nd hot wire from the wire harness (ignition) so I have either type of power.

FuzeBlocks Fuse Block FZ-1 for Motorcycles | Wire & Power your Motorcycle! | PashnitMoto

DSC09975.jpg

Not sure if if this is helpful, but you can see our two orange power wires we tapped into the harness for power, these power the Clearwater Lights.

Dsc00336.jpg

DSC09975.jpg

Dsc00336.jpg