Anybody else own a 270 WSM

CTA_Busa_LE

Donating Member
Registered
I recently acquired a Remington Model Seven chambered in 270 WSM. Was one of my Christmas presents, see pic below. I love this round but will admit I'm still learning about it. The killer is the price of ammo, $50 for 20 rounds is a bit pricey and I'm under way of setting up my reloading bench. I was pleasantly surprised the first couple times I shot it as recoil is not near what I thought it was going to be. Can't wait to get it out and do some long distance shots with it.

I was curious if anyone else does any loading for this monster and if so if they have a good outlet where I can buy brass or ammo at a reasonable price.

IMG_1043 trimmed.jpg

Beautiful stock. Looks light, is it? A friend years ago was boar hunting and after his friend hit a 270 pounder with four .44 mag rounds from an 8" wheelgun, with less than favorable results, he managed a single well placed hit that brought it down immediately. Can't recall what ammo he used.

Nice rifle by the way!:beerchug:

Thanks, I really like it. Glass is a 6x18 Nikon, fluted barrel and not too long or heavy. About the only thing I can use if for in my area is to hunt Coyote, groundhog etc. or targets. Bit over kill for hunting what I can hunt with it but it shoots fast and flat and hits hard, perfect for those long range shots.

I had checked Midway earlier but hadn't checked all of their products, they currently have Remington brass on clearance at the best price I have found yet, $224.73 for 500. Thanks for encouraging me to look again :thumbsup:

Thanks, I really like it. Glass is a 6x18 Nikon, fluted barrel and not too long or heavy. About the only thing I can use if for in my area is to hunt Coyote, groundhog etc. or targets. Bit over kill for hunting what I can hunt with it but it shoots fast and flat and hits hard, perfect for those long range shots.