Advice from you 1/4 mile experts. Went 9.72 today

twinvipers

Registered
This was my third time at the track with my gen 2. First time with air shifter and brocks brick. Went a few 9.72's@146.5 mph with 60 foots in the 1.67 range. No clutch mod yet. Has pipe and power commander. Stock wheel base. Lowering links set in the middle hole. Front was strapped. Stock rear tire at 30 psi. When I tried to leave harder it would just break the tire loose.

My thoughts are a shinko and the clutch mod next.

Any thoughts? Thanks for any help.

I am no expert.. but that looks like some good numbers for your setup...real good !!
I went last weekend ... my best was a 10.47@138...not lowerd Mich Pure 28 psi....had an extremely hard time getting off the line--60 foot sucked...Did your clutch chatter hard when trying to launch at over 2000 rpm....like mine did...9's are killer..only a dream for me right now..Good luck on your next outing. I also want to know what to do about my clutch issue..i guess just go to brocks and find out..

Last edited:
Did you have to modify the brick to get it to work on the 2nd gen? You can get a little harder launch dropping mor pressure. but a shinko will help too im sure.
Pace Master, those are good numbers for not being lowered.

My gen II is streched 6", lowered 2" and I run the Shinko 003 at 15psi. It hooks up well enough to bring my wheel up. It never breaks loose.

Did you have to modify the brick to get it to work on the 2nd gen? You can get a little harder launch dropping mor pressure. but a shinko will help too im sure.
Pace Master, those are good numbers for not being lowered.

The brick did have to be modified.

Those are pretty good ## for you setup. The Shinko will help( I have an ultra soft shinko)
With over 200 passes on it and its still in good shape. Are you getting any kind of clutch chatter? Better yet I would still get the clutch mod.. Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.